top of page
  • Writer's pictureMallory McCoy

I Met My Soul Twin on Facebook!

Greetings everyone and Happy Cowboy Carter Weekend! May this blog post bring you what you need in the present moment. My love is extended to all who could use a little extra, and may my light exude positivity and kindness. Asé! Let's seize the moment! 


Because of my busy schedule, my blogs will start aligning with "A Monday Moment with Mal," my live-streamed episodes on YouTube, Facebook, and Twitch. Check them out at the aforementioned links!


This one is a special one because there will be no aligning show to go with it, but this story MUST be told!


There is a Facebook group called "Black Women Making Friends KC" created by Dani Moore (🗣️shoutout to her for creating the space). It's literally a "dating site" for Black women to platonically connect with other Black women of like mind and interests.


I joined last year sometime, and because I was waist-deep in my dissertation writing, I would just scroll for a minute to see what other ladies were up to and continue on with my business. I did post for the first time in December 2023, but it was for my dissertation survey, as I was actively looking for survey participants. I don’t know if it helped my survey results, but just from that one post, I was able to connect with two ladies that I meet with on a weekly basis to work on building an organization for suburban Black girls. That’s another story for another day, but LOOK AT THE POWER OF JUST ONE POST!


My focus phrase for this year is STRONGER TOGETHER, so on the downslope of my dissertation work, I have been actively manifesting a group of ladies in my life who are like-minded and can be a part of my tribe. So, I wrote a note to myself that I was going to post to the group as an invite to my Sister Circles dated March 9, 2024:



However, I never posted it because if I was going to be hosting the Sister Circles at my house, I couldn’t and wouldn’t invite the whole BWMFKC group into my house. First, stranger danger; second, VIBES speak louder than words; and third, just not the safest thing to do in 2024!


Anyway, a few days later, I saw that Shanita Terrill posted something similar to what I was going to post. I thought it was ironic, but I was certainly glad she made the post because it was in a safer way:


I responded to her:


She responded to me:


I sent her my favorite GIF:





She replied with hers:




Annnnnddddd we were all set up! She actually RSVPed and was really coming…Then, I was like, WHOA! I’m inviting a complete stranger to my house! Truth be told, I’ve been forever optimistic like this, so much so that my family always gets on me (especially my sister) for not seeing all sides of a situation and only the good side of them. So, right on cue, that conviction tape began playing in my brain, so to give myself peace of mind, I went to her page to lurk. What I noticed was that she was using hashtags like #leogang, #thisis40, etc. And if you know ANYTHING ABOUT US LEOS, you know we love to publicize our birthdays! #leosznallyear. So naturally, the Leo in me was curious about the Leo in her, so I messaged her.

Our interchange went like this:


Those voice messages include a lot of yelling and Black girl squeals because…WHAT?!?! ANOTHER Leo, Leo, Sagittarius?!?! Same day??! Same year?!?!? She even sent me the Muni Long song while I was looking for it to send to her. 🤯 We then exchanged phone numbers and had the longest conversation! We were both just blown away, so we were trying to compare to see what lines up in our lives already. Our conversation HAD to end because we had to go to bed to get ready for the next day, but we sure didn't want it to end!


How can two people born on the same day in the same year, less than 1.5 hours apart, and grew up in the same state (I’m so STL and she’s so KC) meet in a FACEBOOK SOCIAL GROUP? We literally have the same birth chart. We are literally the same soul! Literally SOUL TWINS!


Unfortunately, she could not come to my Sister Circle, but we’ve occupied the same space twice already, and let me tell you: for me, it was LOVE AT FIRST VIBE! As our life stories unfold to one another, we share uncanny similarities. I never expected us to share the same fleshly frame, but the obvious is that our souls both chose to enter this Earthly realm as Black women. And how about we wear the same shoe size, AND we both love shoes? She also loves taking pictures like me. We also don’t wear the same outfits twice…if we took a picture in it, that was IT for that outfit! I’m finishing up my doctorate, and she’s getting a doctorate. We’re both nerds and love to learn. Our personalities are larger than life and sometimes hard for others to digest. Yet, in her presence, I never had to dim myself or turn my vibe down to make her feel comfortable. I rarely get to exist in my truly authentic space, and what better way to exist than with my SOUL TWIN?!



I just wanted to share this story because before I met Shanita, I had met birthday twins, but I’ve never met my SOUL TWIN. I'm excited to see how our story continues to unfold. It feels like a divine connection already.


According to howstuffworks.com, there is a math problem called the birthday problem or birthday paradox. The Birthday Paradox is a fun idea that says, even though there are 365 days in a year, if you have just 23 people in the group, there's actually a pretty good chance that two of them have the same birthday! It seems surprising, but it's because there are so many possible pairs of people in a group that the chance goes up. But what’s the probability of someone having your identical astrological birth chart, life path number, and human design? And in a Facebook group, nonetheless? And in the same city?! Have you ever met YOU in the body of someone else? It’s wild to think about. Where are the others? Who’s turning 40 on July 28th this year, and what time were you born?


Alexa, play Muni Long’s “Made for Me” because 🎵🎤TWIN, WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN🎤🎵?!



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page