top of page
  • Writer's pictureMallory McCoy

JUST START ALREADY!

Updated: Jul 31, 2022




This blog has been a long time coming. I've been wanting to start writing for a long time. I actually have had bits and pieces of content to disseminate since 2018. I even attempted to start a YouTube channel in 2020, but I realized that I couldn’t keep up because it takes hours and hours to edit videos. I know that I learn best visually and kinesthetically, and I’m the best at notating my ideas, so that’s where the blog idea came to mind. My good friend Dr. Cherlisa Jackson (sheerllc.com) has consistently encouraged me to just…start. She even set the example earlier this year by starting Therapy Thursdays on her IG (@synclairejames). I also have received spiritual advice that told me I needed to start writing…


So, what's been stopping me? Mostly life, but also myself. I've made a TON of excuses as to why I couldn't...just...START. Time, knowledge, fear of failure, perfectionism, self-doubt, and a myriad of other things have stopped me from basking in the glow of myself and meeting my truest potential.


What I manifested for myself is already coming to light.

  • I've been comfortable in a 14-year teaching career, but I've always felt there was more that could be done. So, at the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year, I told myself way before Beyoncé told us to quit our 9-5 that I was not going to go back to teaching after the school year was over. I wasn’t sure at first, but the more I spoke it, the more sure I became, and the more things in my life started lining up for me to make it happen. Now, I know it was the perfect time for me to exit my teaching career, and I have zero regrets. I know I’ll miss the students, but I plan to volunteer at the school.

  • I wanted my son to have Speech and Occupational Therapy, and initially, I was met with waitlists. I called his doctor for a referral, and the next week, he was being evaluated for Speech/OT. He started 5 days because I’m no longer on the school schedule, I’m able to take him before he has to go to the ABA center for the school.

  • I wanted to pour into my notary business, Mallory Mo-tary (mallorymotary.com), that I started July 2020. I tested for and received my remote online notary commission, and now, I am in the next training class for a company called Notary Cam. I’ll be working as a 1099 Independent Contractor for the company doing Remote Online Notarizations. I get to choose my own hours and be my own BOSS!

  • I wanted to assist Raymond, my life partner, with our real estate endeavors, helping him by organizing the business and assisting him in any way he needs. I’ve been doing just that. We’re much more organized and business is becoming smoother than what it was.

  • Lastly, I wanted to give the necessary time I need to give to complete my doctorate. Dr. Mal is on the way! I completed my DFE requirements (finally), got a good start on my portfolio, and I will soon be able to focus my time on my dissertation. I just need to be intentional about scheduling it into my already crazy schedule. Now at least, I have the flexibility to schedule anything I want!


THIS IS YOUR SIGN! IF YOU’RE READING THIS, JUST START ALREADY!


Alexa, play “A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes”.

67 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page