top of page
  • Writer's pictureMallory McCoy

I Attended My 20-Year High School Reunion…s!

Updated: Jun 26

Greetings to my attentive people! I hope that today, you have expressed gratitude for the current moment and all the gifts the PRESENT gives us. I’m so thankful to be alive, have full use of my body, and have all my basic needs met. What an incredible gift to me! All praises!


Y’all, I attended my 20-YEAR HIGH SCHOOL REUNION…S. First of all, my 20-YEAR ANYTHING sounds just…weird. Incredibly weird. And because I’m like Benjamin Button in the game and aging backward, it REALLY feels weird to say that I graduated 20 years ago. Another realization that happened recently is that I reflected and realized that I also came to Kansas City 20 years ago, which means that I’ve been in Kansas City longer than I’ve ever been in my hometown or my high school town. I’m still not from Kansas City, though. LOL


I attended TWO reunions instead of one. I graduated from Troy Buchanan High School (TBHS) in Troy, MO, in 2003, but I had only moved to Troy before my freshman year. I went to Wentzville School District, in Wentzville, MO, from Kindergarten through 8th Grade. I grew up with my Wentzville classmates, though. And they’re a part of my soul group. So, I was honored when they asked me to come to their class reunion!


I found out about both reunions on Facebook, and I didn’t even think to ask if any of my other classmates would show up…especially the ones I hung out with. Then, I realized that was irrelevant because I was really a LONER… I know this sounds surprising to anyone who “knows” me, but in school, I was really a “social chameleon” who blended in with whatever social group that I was a part of… and really didn’t have many friends. I had a few select friends and a whole lot of associates. I’ve actually never been able to show my whole and true self to others. I showed up to others how they wanted me to show up to them. Call me a deceiver, and I’ll call it my Life Path 3: expressive, empathetic, creative, enthusiastic, mystical, but also, I can put on a show! Life is a perpetual stage, after all.


TBHS 2003 REUNION

I attended TBHS’ reunion at their Homecoming Game. They had a tailgate that I didn’t attend, a game that I did attend, and they met at a local bar afterward. Out of our 451-person graduating class, there was only an estimated 1%-2% of the class that showed up to the game. I was actually surprised by this, and I’m really wondering if everyone caught word of it or was able to make it. OR did they even care to make it? Nonetheless, it was ok to catch up with the ones that were there. It was not surprising to see that the social groups that hung out in high school gravitated toward and hung out with each other. There were no show choir kids there but me, so I hung out with the band kids and was in the front row when the band performed at Halftime. It was interesting to see how the marching band is done nowadays. I was most surprised that they just walked onto the field, got into formation, did the show, and just walked off after the show was done. I don’t remember doing that, and I haven’t seen a marching band show in a while, so maybe things have just changed like that in the last 20 years. In spite of everything, this 2003 TBHS Prom Queen met her class with style and grace. I was glad everyone who was there was doing well, and I hope the ones who didn’t show up are doing just as well.

WENTZVILLE 2003 REUNION

I attended Wentzville’s reunion at Sugarfire Wentzville, a BBQ restaurant in the STL area. They did have something at the Homecoming game the night before, but I was already preoccupied with another reunion, so I showed up at this event. I was actually nervous about this one because it had been 24 YEARS since I had seen any of my Wentzville classmates… you see, social media didn’t exist in 1998. I joined Facebook in 2005, when it was only open to college students. So, although I’m in contact with some of my classmates via Facebook, I haven’t gone through my yearbooks to find the others who haven’t connected with me. Anyway, I showed up, and it was like… I had graduated with them! They remembered me and even had a yearbook out from 6th grade with my picture in it! It took a bit for me to recognize those faces from 6th grade in adult bodies that are almost 40. Some had the exact same faces, though! :) I know I changed because, like I said earlier, I’m Benjamin Button in the game! :) Anyway, conversations were easy, positive affirmations flowed freely between us, and it was just good vibes! I enjoyed myself, but I had to leave before the group picture because I had to get back to KC for #QUEENBEYINKC2023.


Here are some pics from the weekend:


Alexa, play “I Hope You Dance” by Lee Ann Womack. That was TBHS’s class of 2003 favorite song! I don't know if it ACTUALLY was, but it was played at EVERY dance!



Commentaires


bottom of page