top of page
  • Writer's pictureMallory McCoy

Kansas City Food Spots for the Not Playin’ Vegan

Greetings and Happy Veganuary 2024! I hope you’re kicking off the second week of the Gregorian year of 2024 with love, peace, joy, and tons of happiness! 


Last year, I wrote about AND created a video review series on "Kansas City Food Spots for the Transitioning Vegan". You can read the revised version here


To be clear, I’m using plant-based and vegan interchangeably, in real life, they are not interchangeable. Veganism is a lifestyle where one is consciously aware of all things that go against or protect animal rights, and eating plant-based just focuses on your diet. So, when transitioning to a plant-based diet, I don’t think it’s about being healthy at first. Don’t restrict yourself, or you will give up quickly. 


However, during your transition, you’ll start to realize that you need to incorporate more living foods and diminish the processed foods in your diet.  Why? The nutrients you hope to get from a processed plant-based lifestyle won’t be absorbed by your body. Also, processed foods dehydrate your body and have preservatives that your body doesn’t recognize. You won’t feel any better and although the symptoms you experienced may have diminished,  you’ll possibly experience the reduced version. You can completely heal your body by eating living food. 


Now, when I say "living foods", I'm referring to foods that are close to their natural, original, and purest form. Living foods haven't been cooked or commercially processed. 


I’m jumping back on the path because what was happening to my body was unbelievable! When I jumped out of raw veganism, my bloat came back. I’m not really worried about fat because I workout but more concerned about how the food makes my body react. 


The raw food journey is the road less traveled, therefore, there are not many storefronts that support this part of the lifestyle. So, here's my very short list of Kansas City food spots for the Not Playin’ Vegan. 


Gigi’s Vegan + Wellness Cafe

  1. Location and Contact: 1103 Westport Road, Kansas City, Missouri 64111/ https://gigisvegancafe.com/ https://gigisvegancafe.com/contact-us

  2. Hours: Tuesday-Friday 11AM – 5PM/ Saturday 9AM-2PM

  3. Type of Food Spot: Raw Vegan Restaurant, Dine-In or Takeout

  4. My own personal story: Gigi the Vegan is Kansas City’s own. When you think of veganism in Kansas City, you think of her. She’s the one that hosts the Midwest Soul VegFest She’s a self-proclaimed food activist, sharing with the community what helped heal her as she went through her health crisis. She has her own line of kale chips, nuts, teas, and smoothies, and even has her own cookbook! She holds certifications as a raw food chef, health educator, dietician, and nutritionist. She hosts classes and does meal prepping. And looks GOODT doing it! She is a light to behold! But also, not PLAYIN’ with y’all vegans looking for processed vegan food. That’s not healing anyone. She used to offer vegan options, but her restaurant is now 99% raw vegan (her soups are seasonal). They’re even sprouting the chickpeas they use! Everything you eat will be living foods! 

  5. What you’re going to order: The menu fluctuates, so you’ll have to see what’s on it when you get there. When I was there last time, I enjoyed Soulful Tacos with no spicy hummus added raw cheeze sauce, and Lentil Soup. I also enjoyed an apple and ginger juice. It was incredibly delicious! If you’re looking for a juice cleanse, they have them here as well!

  6. Cost: $20-$30/person (Good food ain’t cheap, but you’re going to pay now to avoid paying later!


Nadine Plant-Based and Wellness

  1. Location and Contact: Out of her home! She lives in Downtown Kansas City, but she delivers for a $10 fee. Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nadine.farris16/

  2. Hours: No set hours. Per her availability, she has consistent customers, so she’s preparing all the time. In fact, per her text message to me, orders are ready the next day!

  3. Type of Food Spot:  Delivery

  4. My own personal story: I don’t remember the first day I met Ms. Nadine Farris, but the day I did, she changed my life! She frequently vends her healthful juices, smoothies, and teas at local farmers' markets and every year at the Midwest Soul VegFest, so I know our paths crossed at that time. Her aura is incredible and her story is one that should be in a book. If you follow her on social media, she shares her story openly. Because she walks her talk, you would never be able to guess her age (she’ll tell you, but don’t ask her). She inspires me with every social media post, especially the one where she maxes out on pull-ups in the gym. I can’t even pull myself up yet, so little does she know, she inspires others like me just by living how she does. She heals the community with her delicious smoothies and juices. What’s unique about her products is that she uses whole fruits and veggies in the juice or smoothie without compromising the taste of it. You get all the nutritional benefits of the fruits and vegetables included in the juice or smoothie. She also makes teas, which are just as amazing. 

  5. What you’re going to order: The juices, smoothies, and teas are $15 for 32 ounces, each order must be (5) or more. Orders will be delivered the next day, there's a $10 delivery fee thank you! You’re going to get the Ginger Lemon, the Mangolicious, the MasterBlaster for detox, and BUTTERFLY PEA TEA! It’s my favorite!

  6. Cost: $15/item with a minimum of 5 items, so that’s $75 for the order. It’s going to last you all week!

Cafe Gratitude


  1. Location and Contact: 333 SOUTHWEST BLVD., Kansas City, MO 64108/ (816) 474-LOVE (5683)/love@cafegratitudekc.com

  2. Hours: Monday 11am - 9pm, Tuesday 11am - 9pm, Wednesday CLOSED, Thursday 11am - 9pm, Friday 11am - 10pm, Saturday 10am - 10pm, and Sunday 10am - 9pm.

  3. Type of Food Spot:  Dine-In, Takeout, Delivery, Catering

  4. My own personal story: I discovered Cafe Gratitude when I started to adopt a plant-based lifestyle. I love the vibe of the restaurant and I love that each menu item is an affirmation. The wait staff has always been loving and joyful when I’ve interacted with them the few times I’ve been there. It’s a really solid place!

  5. What you’re going to order: Since we’re talking about NOT PLAYIN’, I’m going to choose one of the two raw vegan entrees on the menu. I do love the few vegan items I had on their plant-based menu, and if you’re going for clean, you can’t go wrong with ANY entree on the menu. It’s all 100% organic and vegan! You can get ANY salad or the raw zucchini alfredo. It was good! It’s just cold, so you have to wrap your brain around that. They also have raw desserts that are delectable.

  6. Cost: $10-$25/person

Honorable Mention: Billie’s Grocery


  1. Location and Contact: They have two locations: 3216 Gillham Plaza, Suite 100, Kansas City, MO 64109, and 3614 West 95th Street, Leawood, KS 66206

  2. Hours: Pick-Up: Monday-Saturday 8 AM-6 PM, Sunday 8 AM-3 PM (KC Location) and Monday-Saturday 8 AM-8 PM, Sunday 8 AM-3 PM (Leawood Location)

  3. Type of Food Spot: Dine-In, Takeout, Delivery, Pre-Orders and Catering

  4. My own personal story: I discovered Billie’s Grocery one day when I was in the city near Brookside and wanted an option different than Mattie’s Foods (Disclaimer: I LOVE Mattie’s, but I just wanted to try something different). I loved the vibe of the restaurant because there were plants everywhere, and there were products that were made by local vendors being sold in the store. I appreciated seeing BG supporting other small businesses. I went in and looked at their menu. Every item on the menu uses clean ingredients, but not everything is vegan in this restaurant, and they only have a few raw entrees on the menu.

  5. What you’re going to order: I would go here for raw vegan desserts. I had a raw vegan Snickers bar...WHOA! 10/10! I get it every time I go there! I also got a Strawberry Healer smoothie. It was yummy!

  6. Cost: $20

Grocery shop and eat at HOME!

  1. Location and Contact: Home and You!

  2. Hours: Anytime you have groceries at home!

  3. Type of Food Spot: Vegan and Residential 

  4. My own personal story: I HATE THE KITCHEN! I was raised to work outside, so I wasn’t worth anything in the kitchen. When I got married, my partner knew I didn’t cook, but for some reason, he thought that because we got married, I was just going to automatically start cooking (insert Maury) So, we spent a lot of time eating out! Fast forward to now, after many years of needing to figure out what was happening in the kitchen, we now do things in the kitchen together. He says that I’m the sous chef, but he’s really the sous chef. Don’t tell him I said that…🤣I’m lying. His presentation skills for food are immaculate! Last October, I went on a 30-day Raw Vegan Diet, and it was life-changing! Catch my take here.

  5. What you’re going to make: Whatever your heart desires! I think if you keep with a routine, you’ll be more successful. I practice intermittent fasting, and I only really eat one big meal a day. When I practice raw veganism, I eat a huge salad, a huge shake, and a pomegranate. I’m SO full when I eat just those three things! (Want to know how? Gotta read my blog post next week). I think the best part is that you get to be as creative as you want with your food. You know how clean your kitchen is and you know what spices you like to add to your food, so if you like to be creative in the kitchen and find yourself complaining about how others make their food, make your own food.

  6. Cost: Well, to just make food at home means you only have the expense of the food you make. It’s better than having your grocery bill plus your eating-out bill!


There may be other food places in Kansas City that cater to the NOT PLAYIN' VEGAN, but I haven't heard about them. If you have one that I missed, chime in! Love, peace, and good health to all of you!


Alexa, play “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield! Not only is it a BOP, but it reminds us that we get to write the script of our lives. If you’re here, maybe it’s because you want the script of your life to be different than the one that currently exists. I’m here to tell you that spiritual, emotional, mental, and physical change starts from within. 

🎵Feel the rain on your skin

No one else can feel it for you

Only you can let it in

No one else, no one else

Can speak the words on your lips

Drench yourself in words unspoken

Live your life with arms wide open

Today is where your book begins

The rest is still unwritten.🎵



Comments


bottom of page