top of page
  • Writer's pictureMallory McCoy

Girl, Come Take This HEELS Class With Me!

Updated: Jun 25

For the first quarter of the year, I’ve started brainstorming and revising some goals for myself. Want to use my template? I’ll link it here for FREE!

Anyway, one of the physical goals I set for myself was to LEARN HOW TO DO THE SPLITS. Lately, I have seen all these beautiful and ageless women of all sizes hittin’ the splits, and I’m like, “I WANNA DO IT TOO!” Source was listening (really my phone), and on my YouTube algorithms, a Splits Challenge came up! So, now, I’m at Day 5 and killin’ it! I’m about to get these splits as if my life depended on it! 😜(Check it out at https://youtu.be/O95Ev6gf4uE)

When I contacted my cousin (Audri Page) about the Splits Challenge, she told me about a Heels class she was attending and that Elaina (owner of The Next Paige Agency, the 1ST Black Owned Talent Agency in Kansas City) was teaching it. I had to jump on it! She said she was having so much fun, and I wanted to see what the hype was about.

So, the day of class, I got my character shoes out of the closet (they have a 1.5” heel), and my cousin suggested we get knee pads, so I went to Walmart and got those too (they were $11 and I needed them for my split challenge).


Y'ALL!

I. WAS. RIGHT.


I showed up a little before class started and was the first one there. Elaina greeted me with love and a smile. She played music while we waited for my cousin and another class member to show up. As SOON as class started, it got real.


From Beat 1, I was introduced to the show that is

Elaina Paige Thomas.


Power. Elegance. Grace. Beauty. Seduction.


Her vibration is so high while she’s teaching dance that you have NO choice but to meet her where she is. And you won't because she’s a master dancer with a helluva resume, and her talent lights up the space, but you SURELY will be tryin'. Here are a couple of glimpses of the warmup we did:



Emulating her moves as she taught us what to do helped me unleash the seduction that I hadn’t tapped into. I’m afraid to admit it, but that was my first time dancing in the mirror in a seductive way…it felt awkward at first. But as the class went on, and with the encouragement of Elaina's words, I subconsciously gave myself permission to let go of myself and really get into my body. By the time the class was over, I felt so uninhibited and free! Also, my confidence and security in my body were through the roof! Couldn't tell me nothing! 😜

Here’s the final product we learned during class:


Verdict: Don't even think TWICE about it! Sign up and show up! Join us on Tuesday evenings 7:30 PM-8:30 PM at The Next Paige Agency, 5930 Troost Ave., KCMO 64110. The cost is $20/class. If you don’t want to take this class, they offer many other classes and many more services.

Here’s the link to the classes:  https://nextpaigellc.com/dance-fitness-class-schedule/

Pre-pay for the class or show up and pay for the class. Wear some comfortable heels and maybe get some knee pads if you’d like to…not required, but if you got old knees like me, you’d WANT them!

Get ready to turn up the dial on your confidence level!

And for the youngins, 🗣 Alexa, play “All About Me” by Mya featuring Dru Hill. I had all of Mya’s CDs, and this song was definitely a hit! Still know all the words like they just came out! 😂





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page